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Chapter 1

MTG_CARD_V

1.1 Card Rulings & Descriptions - V

- - * - * - V - * - * - -

Venarian Gold

Venom

Venomous Breath

Verduran Enchantress

Vesuvan Doppelganger

Veteran Bodyguard

Vexing Arcanix

Visions

Vodalian Knights

Vodalian War Machine

Volcanic Eruption

Volcanic Island

Voodoo Doll

1.2 Venarian Gold

Venarian Gold:
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As errata to the card, it should read "Put X counters on Venarian Gold..."
[Duelist Magazine #4, Page 138] Even though it says to put the counters
on the creature, they go away if the enchantment is removed. It should
say that they go on the enchantment.

Once all the counters are gone, it just sits there as an inert enchantment.
[bethmo 06/17/94]

Card Information

1.3 Venom

Venom:

A non-wall creature blocking or any creature blocked by this card is marked
for destruction when it is assigned as a blocker or this card is assigned
to block it. A mark is added to a creature which becomes a blocker by
any means, including being part of a band which is blocked or by being
moved into blocking or being blocked by an effect such as General Jarkeld.
This mark stays even if the creature is removed from the blocking
situation by an effect like General Jarkeld. [WotC Rules Team 09/22/95]

If this enchantment is moved onto a creature after blockers are assigned,
all creatures blocked by the new creature at any time during this turn
are immediately marked by this effect for destruction. [D’Angelo 10/23/95]

Being destroyed at "end of combat" happens after damage resolution for
normal damage dealing. This can result in a regenerating creature having
to regenerate twice... once for damage dealing and once at "end of
combat". [Aahz 01/19/95]

Card Information

1.4 Venomous Breath

Venomous Breath:

If cast before blockers are assigned, the effect lasts until end of turn
and marks all creatures that block or are blocked by the target creature
for destruction at the end of the turn. A mark is added to a creature
which becomes a blocker by any means, including being part of a band
which is blocked or by being moved into blocking or being blocked by an
effect such as General Jarkeld. This mark stays even if the creature is
removed from the blocking situation by an effect like General Jarkeld.
[D’Angelo 10/23/95]

If cast after blockers are assigned, all creatures blocked by the target
creature at any time during this turn are immediately marked by this
effect for destruction. [D’Angelo 10/23/95] This is a preliminary ruling
and may be overturned.
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1.5 Verduran Enchantress

Verduran Enchantress:

See the Activation Cost entry in the General Rulings for more information
on what "use this effect only once" means.

The effect is a triggered effect. Whenever you successfully cast an
enchantment, you immediately get the option of drawing a card. This
draw effect resolves immediately. It does not wait for other spells
to be announced or resolved. [Aahz 01/07/95]

Does not trigger on the moving of an enchantment from one permanent to
another. [D’Angelo 07/25/95]

The Fourth Edition version has an activation cost while the Limited,
Unlimited, and Revised Editions just had an ability.
[Duelist Magazine #5, Page 11]

Card Information

1.6 Vesuvan Doppelganger

Vesuvan Doppelganger:

See the Copy Cards entry in the General Rulings for more information.

The Doppelganger of an artifact creature can be Shattered or Disenchanted.

Can only switch creatures once per upkeep phase.
[Duelist Magazine #2, Page 15]

Cannot switch to the same creature it is currently a copy of. But if
there are two of those creatures, it could copy one on one upkeep and
copy the other the next. [Duelist Magazine #7, Page 100]

If switches away from a creature, any upkeep costs on that creature need
not be paid. If switching to a creature, the upkeep costs must be paid
before the end of upkeep (if the creature has any).
[Duelist Magazine #3, Page 15]

Damage is not removed when it changes forms. [D’Angelo 09/09/95]

Animating a dead Doppelganger gets all the Doppelganger’s abilities but
it mimics at -1 power. [WotC Rules Team 02/07/94]

The "normal characteristics" text means that you treat the Doppelganger
as having the exact same text on it as the original card had. This
includes name, casting cost, power/toughness, etc. It does not gain
any enhancements the original creature may have had temporarily through
Instants like Giant Growth or through Enchantments. [bethmo]

When the Doppelganger switches creatures, the creature it used to be is
considered to have left play. This means that if it was a Gaea’s
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Liege, converted lands revert to their old form, and that if it was
Aladdin, stolen artifacts return to the owner as normal. [bethmo]

When it switches forms, the new form is not considered to be entering play.
Effects that trigger off it entering play, even on the card itself, will
not trigger. Thus, switching to a Pyknite will not allow you to draw a
card. [D’Angelo 12/21/95]

If it is a Tetravus and changes forms to something else (leaving some
Tetravite tokens in play) then changes back to a Tetravus later, the old
tokens will not consider this to be the same Tetravus they came from, so
they will not be able to move onto the Doppelganger/Tetravus.
[Aahz 03/02/96]

Whenever it changes forms, it "resets" and loses any counters or other
gains it made as the creature it was originally copying.
[Duelist Magazine #5, Page 123] This affects creatures like Clockwork
Beast, Fungusaur, Sengir Vampire and Thallids.

When changing forms, it keeps counters due to enchantments, effects of
other spells or permanents, and targeted effects due to its own abilities
whether or not they are not represented by counters.
[Duelist Magazine #5, Page 123] This includes things like a Giant Growth,
pumping up using Fire Breathing, or even use of Dwarven Warriors’ or
Dwarven Weaponsmith’s _targeted_ abilities. It does not include
non-targeted abilities like the Frozen Shade’s "B:+1/+1" ability or
counters such as the Sengir Vampire gets. Also, if switching from a
Thallid, Spore counters gained as the Thallid are lost, but ones from
Fungal Bloom will stay in case they are useful later.
[Duelist Magazine #5, Page 123]

When changing forms, the text changes from Magical Hack and Sleight of Mind
are lost in the change along with the old text. [D’Angelo 02/27/95]

When changing forms, it does not get any counters that the creature being
copied would have received when cast, although it would get those counters
when cast. [WotC Rules Team 02/27/94] Thus, a Doppel of a Clockwork
Beast would get counters if it copied the Beast when cast, but would not
get any if it changes form to a Clockwork Beast.

The Shyft color is a built in ability and the color set is lost when
changing away from this form. [WotC Rules Team 10/18/95]

A Doppelganger of a Clone is just a copy of the creature the Clone
copied. [PPG Page 224]

This spell is targeted, so a creature with Protection from Blue cannot be
copied. [WotC Rules Team]

The Doppelganger is targeted and will check the validity of the target
when declared and when resolved. If the target becomes invalid before
resolution on casting the Doppelganger, then the spell fizzles. If it
becomes invalid before resolution of a shape change, then the change
fizzles and it keeps its current form. [WotC Rules Team 02/09/95]

The Doppelganger is treated as a Summon Creature card even if it is
copying an artifact creature. Thus, spells that affect Summon Creatures,
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such as Dance of Many, can be used on a Doppelganger of anything.
[Aahz 09/15/94]

When it switches forms, cumulative upkeep on the creature it was copying
stops and any new cumulative upkeep for the new form starts over. If the
cumulative upkeep is on the Doppelganger itself, however, it does not
reset. [Aahz 03/02/96]

Card Information

1.7 Veteran Bodyguard

Veteran Bodyguard:

If a creature is blocked but Trample damage is still done to a player,
this damage cannot be redirected to the Bodyguard because the Bodyguard
only takes damage from unblocked creatures. [bethmo]

If a creature which does Trample damage is not blocked, the damage is
taken by the Bodyguard. The damage loses its Trample nature. [Snark]

Damage goes to the Bodyguard as long as he is untapped. This works
even if he is blocking. [Peterson 11/01/94]

The redirection takes place automatically at the end of the first step of
damage prevention. This is not a fast effect used during damage
prevention but you can use other prevention effects before this one
kicks in. If there is more than one automatic effect, the person
damaged can choose which order to apply them. This damage will result
in a second damage prevention step to follow this one.
[WotC Rules Team 06/15/95]

Cannot be used against spell or other non-creature attack damage. Note
that the Prodigal Sorcerer and other creatures have non-attack ways to
deliver damage, but only attacking creature damage can be used on a
Bodyguard.

Only usable on damage from unblocked attacking creatures that is dealt due
to the attack. Any damage from effects (even while it is attacking and
is unblocked) is not valid. [Duelist Magazine #7, Page 99]

Redirected damage retains its color and any other abilities. [Snark]

In the Limited and Unlimited Editions, the Bodyguard did not state that
only one of them could take damage during a given turn, so if two (or
more) Veteran Bodyguards are in play (for the same player), each of the
bodyguards takes all of the unblocked damage. [Snark] If a Martyr of
Korlis is in play, unblocked artifact creature damage must go to a
Martyr because its text overrides the Veteran Bodyguard. All other
unblocked creature damage can and will be taken by your Veteran
Bodyguard. [Aahz]

In the Revised Edition, only one Bodyguard can take damage during a given
turn, even if one of the other Bodyguards is a Limited or Unlimited
Edition one, or if it is a Martyr of Korlis. This means that you may
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choose among your various Bodyguards which one takes creature damage
(with Martyrs usable for artifact creature damage). Note that if a
Martyr takes some artifact damage (creature or not) then none of the
other Revised Bodyguards may take damage for you, even if the damage is
not artifact damage.

Card Information

1.8 Vexing Arcanix

Vexing Arcanix:

The target player names a card on resolution and not on announcement.
[Aahz 01/16/96]

If the player has no cards in their library, the effect does nothing. It
does not cause any damage. [WotC Rules Team 05/08/96]

1.9 Visions

Visions:

You cannot rearrange the cards. You put them back in the same order or
you shuffle the whole library. [bethmo 08/31/94]

If there are less than 5 cards in the the library, you look at whatever ones
remain and you still get the option to shuffle.
[Duelist Magazine #6, Page 130]

This is not a draw and will not cause a player to lose if there are less
than 5 cards in the library. [Duelist Magazine #6, Page 130]

Card Information

1.10 Vodalian Knights

Vodalian Knights:

As errata, it should say "defending player" instead of "opponent".
[Duelist Magazine #4, Page 64]

Card Information

1.11 Vodalian War Machine
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Vodalian War Machine:

As of 06/01/96, the Merfolk are tapped during announcement and as a cost
instead of being tapped during resolution. [WotC Rules team 05/08/96]

It cannot override "summoning sickness", so it cannot attack on the turn it
is brought into play. [WotC Rules Team 12/15/94]

Card Information

1.12 Volcanic Eruption

Volcanic Eruption:

You can power this spell up for more mana than your opponent has
Mountains in play. If you do so, the additional destruction must be
taken from your own Mountains. You cannot do more damage than there
are Mountains available. [PPG Page 223]

Can be used with X equal to zero. This is useful if no Mountains are in
play. [bethmo]

You must pick which Mountains are targeted when the spell is cast.
[WotC Rules Team 02/07/94]

Casting Magical Hack on Volcanic Eruption will not allow you to change the
targets of the spell because you chose the targets when the spell was
declared and before a Hack can interrupt it. The Hack will just cause
it to fizzle. [WotC Rules Team 02/07/94]

The Limited/Unlimited Edition version of this card does X damage even if
the Mountains are removed. This is because the damage is in no way
tied to the number of mountains destroyed, just the number of mountains
originally targeted. The Revised Edition version of this card only
does damage for each land destroyed. [bethmo]

Card Information

1.13 Volcanic Island

Volcanic Island:

See Badlands for rulings.

Volcanic Island was not in the Alpha printing of the Limited Edition.

Card Information

1.14 Voodoo Doll
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Voodoo Doll:

As errata to the Chronicles version, the card is destroyed at the end of
your turn if it is untapped, regardless of whether or not the damage is
prevented. [WotC Rules Team 05/08/96] This makes it just like the
Legends version of the card.

All of the ’X’s on this card refer to the number of counters on the card.
Paying twice the number of counters and tapping the Doll does damage
equal to the number of counters. [bethmo 06/15/94]

If Power Artifact is applied to the Doll, each activation will cost X+X-2
with a minimum cost of 1. [Aahz 07/25/94]

Adding a counter to the Doll is considered an upkeep cost. This cost must
be paid before you can use the card. [Duelist Magazine #5, Page 123]

The Chronicles version gets a counter at the beginning of upkeep while the
Legends version got one at any time during upkeep.
[Duelist Magazine #7, Page 101]

Card Information
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